Guadalupe Church, Makati City - it’s a 400 years old structure with an amazing facade. Founded by the Augustinians, the construction of its foundation was laid in 1601 and was finished in 1629. Some parts of this church were rebuilt several times because of the earthquakes; and in 1880 the masonry roof collapsed because of the earthquake so it was rebuilt in 1882 by Rev. Jose Corujedo O.S.A. Later, this structure was burnt during the fight between Filipinos and Americans on February 1899. It was reconstructed and re-opened to the public in 1983.

Sta. Ana Church or Parish of Our Lady of the Abandoned was established 300 years ago. The cornerstone was laid in 1720. Sta. Ana is also one of the churches spared by World War II, so most of what you see today, including the Camarin de la Virgen, was what churchgoers saw hundreds of years ago.

Malate Church - when the British landed on the shores of Manila in 1762, they used this church as one of their headquarters. Because of its topography, the structure was damaged and rebuilt several times due to natural calamities like earthquakes and typhoons. During the battle in World War II, this church was destroyed by fire.

Binondo Church is known as the Minor Basilica of St. Lorenzo Ruiz which was named after the first Filipino saint (San Lorenzo Ruiz) who was canonized in 1987. The original structure was destroyed in 1756 but on the same spot, it was replaced by a new granite church completed in 1852. But during World War II, it was severely damaged, remaining the west facade, walls and bell tower to survive. In front of this church is Plaza Lorenzo Ruiz where water fountains were perfectly designed that matches the ambiance of the church. This church is in the center of the district and one of the landmarks.

Sta. Cruz Church - is said that the original structure of this church was built in the same area where the latest structure was built. This church was constructed by the members of the “Society of Jesus” or known as the Jesuits in 1608 up to 1768. It is the first Roman Catholic Church built in this area. Its structure is made up of blocks of adobe quarried from the nearby provinces. It was dedicated for the newly converted Chinese who lives in Manila.

Quiapo Churchthe first structure of this church was made of bamboo and nipa palm, built by the Franciscan Missionaries. But in 1574, the pirates lead by Limahong, destroyed and burned the church. In 1588, Fr. Antonio de Nombella, a Franciscan friar, founded this church and declared it as the Parish of St. John the Baptist. It was again burned in 1603 and took over by the “Society of Jesus” or the Jesuits. In 1686, the full construction was started initiated by Gov. Gen. Santiago de Vera.

San Sebastian Church or Basilica Minore de San Sebastian is a Minor Basilica in the City of Manila. The very first structure of this church is situated on a land donated by Don Bernardino Castillo, a devotee of Saint Sebastian, in 1621. It was made up of wood, but was burned in 1651. So it was then replaced by a structure made of bricks but was destroyed again by fire and earthquakes. A new plan was created and that was to build a fire and earthquake resistant structure. In 1880s, Esteban Martinez approached the Spanish architect, Genaro Palacios, to make a structure made of entirely of steel.

Manila Cathedral or the Manila Metropolitan Cathedral-Basilica is situated in the district of Intramuros in Manila. Originally, this church was the "Church of Manila" which was established and under the management of the Diocese of Mexico in 1571, but later in 1579 it became a separate diocese.

San Agustin Church - like the other old churches in the Philippines, this church faced several natural disasters like earthquakes and was burned several times. The very first structure of San Agustin Church was built in 1571 and was made of nipa and bamboo but was destroyed by fire during the invasion of Limahong, a Chinese pirate, in 1574. The same spot, a new structure was built and was made of wood. In 1586, a new structure made of adobe stone was constructed, lead by the Augustinians.

HOW TO GET TO 9 HISTORICAL CHURCHES IN MANILA: The tourist spots above are accessible. From MRT-EDSA Guadalupe we walked on the sidewalks going to Loyola Memorial Chapel. Chose the street beside it going down to Guadalupe Church. In front of Guadalupe Church, we rode in a jeepney bound for PRC and rode in a green tricycle to Sta. Ana Church. Then, the street adjacent to Sta. Church, we rode in a jeepney to Malate Church. At the rear side of Malate we rode in a jeepney to Binondo Church. Then, using my phone GPS, we walked on the streets near China Town going to Sta. Cruz and Quiapo Church. Rode in a jeepney to San Sebastian Church. Walked inside Intramuros to Manila Cathedral and San Agustin Church. Remember to ask questions to people for the right destination. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.